Twelve WRVB Attorneys Named “Lawyer of the Year” for Roanoke and Norfolk


At the local, state, and national levels, Woods Rogers Vandeventer Black (WRVB) attorneys have a reputation for legal excellence. As a result, 12 attorneys from Roanoke and Norfolk were named to the 2024 “Lawyer of the Year” by Best Lawyers in America. This recognition is given to attorneys who receive the highest feedback from their peers during Best Lawyers’ review process.

Roanoke, VA

Agnis C. Chakravorty
Labor Law – Management

Elizabeth Guilbert Perrow
Health Care Law

Mark D. Loftis
Product Liability Litigation – Defendants

Michael E. Hastings
Litigation – Bankruptcy

Patice L. Holland
Railroad Law

Thomas M. Winn III
Employment Law – Management

Norfolk, VA

Brian L. Sykes
Workers’ Compensation Law – Employers

William Birkhead
Transportation Law

Mark T. Coberly
Admiralty and Maritime Law

Ray W. King
Mortgage Banking Foreclosure Law

Richard S. Guy
Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)

William E. Franczek
Construction Law
Litigation – Construction

Other acknowledgements given to WRVB attorneys include listings in Best Lawyers of America and “Ones to Watch.”

Best Lawyers lists are compiled based on an exhaustive evaluation. Attorneys are reviewed by their peers based on professional expertise and undergo an authentication process to ensure they are in current practice and in “good standing.” Only one lawyer is recognized as the "Lawyer of the Year" for a specialty and metropolitan location per edition.


Jump to Page